Live revision! Join us for our free exam revision livestreams Watch now

Study Notes

White House Office

AQA, Edexcel, OCR, IB

Last updated 22 Mar 2021

The White House Office, as a department in the Executive Office is headed by the White House Chief of Staff. The Office is ultimately made up on assistants of the President, who oversee policy, political matters and above all work to protect the interests of the President. None of the roles in the White House Office require Senate confirmation.

The Office was established in 1939 under the Reorganisation Plan 1 and Executive Order 8248. The structure of the Office is determined by the President and each President is free to build their office the way they wish. In the Obama Administration there is about 150 staff.

Typically the WHO contains the following offices with most office heads having the title of Assistant to the President.

  • Office of the Chief of Staff
  • Domestic Policy Council
  • National Economic Council
  • Office of Cabinet Affairs
  • Office of Communications
  • Office of Digital Strategy
  • Office of the First Lady
  • Office of Information Technology
  • Office of Legislative Affairs
  • Office of Management and Administration
  • Office of the National Security Advisor
  • Office of Political Strategy and Outreach
  • Office of Presidential Personnel
  • Office of Public Engagement and Intergovernmental Affairs
  • Office of Scheduling and Advance
  • Office of the Staff Secretary
  • Office of the White Counsel
  • Oval Office Operations
  • White House Fellows
  • White House Military Office

© 2002-2024 Tutor2u Limited. Company Reg no: 04489574. VAT reg no 816865400.