Grade Booster student workshops are back in cinemas for 2022. Learn more


Study Notes

Parliament in Elizabethan Times

AQA, Edexcel, OCR, Eduqas

Parliament in Elizabethan times was divided into two chambers, the House of Lords and the House of Commons.

The House of Lords had members of the nobility, bishops and other clergy in it, whilst the House of Commons had representatives of the common people.

The main role of Parliament was to agree on financial matters such as taxation. Normally, the Queen paid for the running of the country.

However, in certain special times it was necessary to ask Parliament to impose a tax to pay for war.

Parliament was also there to provide advice to the monarch, although, in most cases, Elizabeth did not listen to the advice of Parliament.

Parliament only sat when the Queen said so, and it was dismissed when the Queen decided. In her entire 44 year reign, Elizabeth called Parliament a total of thirteen times.

Boston House,
214 High Street,
Boston Spa,
West Yorkshire,
LS23 6AD

Tel: +44 0844 800 0085

© 2022 Tutor2u Limited. Company Reg no: 04489574. VAT reg no 816865400.