Study notes


  • Levels: GCSE, AS, A Level
  • Exam boards: AQA, Edexcel, OCR, IB
The levels of hierarchy refer to the number of layers within an organisation.

Traditional organisations were tall with many layers of hierarchy and were often authoritarian in nature.

The first organisation chart below shows a business with four levels of hierarchy – from the Managing Director at the top, to assistants and team members at the bottom.

Further below is another organisation chart, which shows a taller hierarchy.


Advertise your vacancies with tutor2u

Much cheaper & more effective than TES or the Guardian. Reach the audience you really want to apply for your teaching vacancy by posting directly to our website and related social media audiences.

Find our more ›

Advertise your teaching jobs with tutor2u