Final dates! Join the tutor2u subject teams in London for a day of exam technique and revision at the cinema. Learn more


South Asian Free Trade Area

The South Asian Free Trade Area (SAFTA) is a trade agreement among the South Asian countries of Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.

SAFTA was established in 2004 with the goal of promoting regional economic integration by reducing tariffs and other trade barriers among member countries. The agreement seeks to increase trade and investment among member countries and to provide a framework for further economic cooperation in the region. SAFTA requires member countries to reduce tariffs on goods traded within the region, but each country sets its own schedule for implementing these reductions.

© 2002-2024 Tutor2u Limited. Company Reg no: 04489574. VAT reg no 816865400.