Locarno Pact (1925)

The Locarno Pact of 1925 was an agreement signed between Britain, France, Belgium, Italy and Germany.

The first aim of the Locarno Pact was to secure borders of the nations of Europe after the First World War. Germany agreed to the border with France, and as a result of this France agreed that they would be in a state of peace with Germany.

The second aim of the Pact was to ensure the permanent demilitarisation of the Rhineland. This was a key condition argued for by France. France had been invaded a significant number of times in the previous century by Germany so the French were understandably weary about German military force.

The final agreed action from the Locarno Pact was that negotiations would start to allow Germany into the League of Nations.

© 2002-2023 Tutor2u Limited. Company Reg no: 04489574. VAT reg no 816865400.