tutor2u Exam Coaching & Revision Workshops

Get Summer 2014 Right First Time with tutor2u Exam Coaching & Revision Workshops

AS & A2 Economics   |  AQA AS & A2 Business and AQA & Edexcel GCSE Business

Business Studies Resources Popular resources on the {my channel} blog Resource tags for the blog RSS Feed for the blog Twitter feed for this blog Teacher Email Resource Newsletter Category listing for this blog Business Studies Blog Home Page
Tracker Pixel for Entry

Q&A - What is the difference between “above” and “below the line” promotion?

Sunday, January 02, 2011
Print Tweet This!Save to Favorites

The way in which promotion is targeted is traditionally split into two types - “above the line” and “below the line”.

Above the line promotion

This is paid for communication in the independent media e.g. advertising on TV or in the newspapers.  Though it can be targeted, it can also be seen by anyone outside the target audience.

The main aims of above-the-line promotion are to inform customers, raise awareness and build brand positioning.  Above-the-line tends to have a higher cost since the promotional methods used are less precise.

Below the line promotion

This concerns promotional activities where the business has direct control over the target or intended audience. There are many methods of below-the-line, including sales promotions, direct marketing, personal selling and sponsorship.


blog comments powered by Disqus

AQA A2 Business Studies BUSS4 Section A Research Theme for 2014

Revision workshops for business studies from tutor2u

Business Studies Revision / Exam Coaching Workshops Coming Up:

GCSE Business (AQA Unit 2 & Edexcel Unit 3)

Thursday 24 April 2014 - Birmingham
Friday 25 April 2014 - London (Stratford City)

AQA AS & A2 Business (BUSS1 & BUSS3)

Monday 20 January 2014 - London (Stratford City)
Tuesday 21 January 2014 - London (Fulham Broadway)
Wednesday 22 January 2014 - Bristol (Cribbs Causeway)
Thursday 23 January 2014 - Birmingham (Star City)
Friday 24 January 2014 - Manchester (Salford Quays)

AQA AS & A2 Business (BUSS2 & BUSS4)

Tuesday 25 March 2014 - London (Stratford City)
Wednesday 26 March 2014 - London (Fulham Broadway)
Thursday 27 March 2014 - Bristol (Cribbs Causeway)
Friday 28 March 2014 - Birmingham (Star City)
Tuesday 1 April 2014 - Newcastle (Metro Centre)
Wednesday 2 April 2014 - Leeds (The Light)
Thursday 3 April 2014 - Manchester (Salford Quays)

Post-Easter (BUSS1/BUSS2 Combined & BUSS4)

Monday 28 April 2014 - London (Stratford City)
Tuesday 29 April 2014 - London (Fulham Broadway)
Wednesday 30 April 2014 - Bristol (Cribbs Causeway)
Thursday 1 May 2014 - Birmingham (Star City)
Friday 2 May 2014 - Manchester (Salford Quays)

Try some of these superb starter activities for Business Studies:

Business Studies Blog Economics Blog
Geography Blog Politics Blog
   
Give It A Go! Blog Sociology Blog
   

tutor2u online store

PowerPoint Lesson Activities Teacher Conferences & CPD Courses
Exam Coaching & Revision Workshops Pre-release Case Study Toolkits
A Level Economics Teaching Support Resources for Business Studies
Digital Magazines  


Enter your Email



TBBLE 2014 - Teaching & Learning Resources for Business Studies

50+ New Teaching & Learning Resources for GCSE, A Level & IB Business

Latest resources

Resource categories Blog RSS feed Blog RSS Feed
© Copyright Tutor2u Limited 2013 All Rights Reserved