tutor2u Exam Coaching & Revision Workshops

Get Summer 2014 Right First Time with tutor2u Exam Coaching & Revision Workshops

AS & A2 Economics   |  AQA AS & A2 Business and AQA & Edexcel GCSE Business

Business Studies Resources Popular resources on the {my channel} blog Resource tags for the blog RSS Feed for the blog Twitter feed for this blog Teacher Email Resource Newsletter Category listing for this blog Business Studies Blog Home Page
Tracker Pixel for Entry

Manchester United sponsorship deal shows the value of a global brand

Sunday, August 05, 2012
Print Tweet This!Save to Favorites

The scale of the new shirt sponsorshop deal agreed between Manchester United and General Motors Chevrolet brand is staggering and a great example of the benefits a brand can enjoy when it becomes truly global.

The deal is reported as being worth a record-breaking $559m (£357m), which works out at almost $80m (£51m) a year.

To put this into perspective, that is more than double the £19.6m insurer Aon is currently paying to have its brand on Manchester united’s shirts.

Another way to compare the deal is to look at the major shirt sponsorship arrangements for other leading clubs. The current deals for the other highest-sponsored clubs are:

  • Barcelona (Qatar Foundation) - £25m p.a.
  • Bayern Munich (Deutsche Telekom) - £23.6m p.a.
  • Liverpool (Standard Chartered) £20m p.a.
  • Manchester City (Etihad Airways) £20m p.a.

 

 

 

Why the high number?

One key reason is the size and reach of Manchester United as a global brand. The club claims that it has 659 million global followers including a vast fan base on social media sites. How many global brands can compete with that kind of reach? No wonder other brands want to be associated with Manchester United!


blog comments powered by Disqus

AQA A2 Business Studies BUSS4 Section A Research Theme for 2014

Revision workshops for business studies from tutor2u

Business Studies Revision / Exam Coaching Workshops Coming Up:

GCSE Business (AQA Unit 2 & Edexcel Unit 3)

Thursday 24 April 2014 - Birmingham
Friday 25 April 2014 - London (Stratford City)

AQA AS & A2 Business (BUSS1 & BUSS3)

Monday 20 January 2014 - London (Stratford City)
Tuesday 21 January 2014 - London (Fulham Broadway)
Wednesday 22 January 2014 - Bristol (Cribbs Causeway)
Thursday 23 January 2014 - Birmingham (Star City)
Friday 24 January 2014 - Manchester (Salford Quays)

AQA AS & A2 Business (BUSS2 & BUSS4)

Tuesday 25 March 2014 - London (Stratford City)
Wednesday 26 March 2014 - London (Fulham Broadway)
Thursday 27 March 2014 - Bristol (Cribbs Causeway)
Friday 28 March 2014 - Birmingham (Star City)
Tuesday 1 April 2014 - Newcastle (Metro Centre)
Wednesday 2 April 2014 - Leeds (The Light)
Thursday 3 April 2014 - Manchester (Salford Quays)

Post-Easter (BUSS1/BUSS2 Combined & BUSS4)

Monday 28 April 2014 - London (Stratford City)
Tuesday 29 April 2014 - London (Fulham Broadway)
Wednesday 30 April 2014 - Bristol (Cribbs Causeway)
Thursday 1 May 2014 - Birmingham (Star City)
Friday 2 May 2014 - Manchester (Salford Quays)

Try some of these superb starter activities for Business Studies:

Business Studies Blog Economics Blog
Geography Blog Politics Blog
   
Give It A Go! Blog Sociology Blog
   

tutor2u online store

PowerPoint Lesson Activities Teacher Conferences & CPD Courses
Exam Coaching & Revision Workshops Pre-release Case Study Toolkits
A Level Economics Teaching Support Resources for Business Studies
Digital Magazines  


Enter your Email



TBBLE 2014 - Teaching & Learning Resources for Business Studies

50+ New Teaching & Learning Resources for GCSE, A Level & IB Business

Latest resources

Resource categories Blog RSS feed Blog RSS Feed
© Copyright Tutor2u Limited 2013 All Rights Reserved